Home > for fun, PTC > Tri-x are for kids

Tri-x are for kids


As the new year approached I was wracking my brain trying to figure out how I could better myself in 2011.  I already quit smoking, drinking, farting, burping, shooting zooms and masturbating so what the hell is left?  Then it hit me like a subtle ton of bricks.  What I needed was a photographic resolution.  Something that will better me as a photographer not better me as a person.  If you wanna find out what the hell I’m talkin about then follow the yellow brick road.

One of the cool parts about using only prime lenses is the challenge to do what you can with what you got.  It was this frame of mind that helped me decide on my 2011 new years resolution.  For the entire year I’ll be shooting all Tri-x all the time.  I have a variety of cameras, in various formats to use but no matter which one I use it’ll be loaded with Tri-x.  The only problem I foresee is they don’t make any instant Tri-x.  Are you listening Kodak?  You could steal some thunder from Impossible Project.  It wouldn’t be too hard cuz they’re film is shit anyway.  But i digress.  You might be wondering why I would make such a ludicrous resolution and you might not but I’m gonna tell you anyway.

The main reason I want to do this is because I hate Tri-x.  Maybe hate is too strong of a word.  I don’t understand Tri-x and people fear what they don’t understand.  I figured if I gave myself a solid year of Tri-x at least I would understand it.  I might not like it but that’s another story.  The second reason is that by challenging myself I’m sure I will grow as a shooter.  My work will evolve and I will gain experience along the way.  If your primary lenses are zoom lenses this will be hard for you to understand.  You will drone on about convenience and flexibility all the while you brain will be turning to mush.  Oh yeah and one more thing.  If it was good enough for Ansel it’s good enough for me.  I know that’s cliche but I don’t give a fuck.

Tri-x has long been prized for it latitude and flexibility.  With the right developing you can run it from 200 to 6400 iso.  It’s not especially fine grained but has a classic, journalistic look.  I’m curious to see how this pairs with subject matter that is not journalistic in nature.  I’ll be doing my own developing and scanning.  I’ll also be striving to present images to you that are straight out of camera.  My camera of choice will be a Leica M6 though I have a serious addiction to toy cameras so expect some of that too.  I’ll be posting images and thoughts here as often as possible so be sure to stop by once in a while to see if I’ve lost my mind yet.  If you haven’t made your new years resolution yet it’s not too late.  If you got zooms get rid of ’em.  If you got friends with zooms get rid of ’em.  If you got nuthin but a sack full of fixed glass join the revolution!

Biggy

Categories: for fun, PTC Tags: , , , , ,
  1. January 17, 2011 at 11:50 pm

    Getting out of your comfort zone is the way to punch forward. Could be a good opportunity to play with some of the developer mixes like Caffenol …even a home brew maybe.

    I’m just getting back into film an F5 that is too heavy to carry but too sexy to sell and likely an FA with my zeiss primes for b&w street …so I’m going to be watching your travels real close.

    …and good luck with the masturbating, I hope you get it under control.

  2. January 24, 2011 at 11:08 am

    I couldn’t agree with you more, anyway l love your site layout. Is nice and clean.

  3. jonwclay
    August 29, 2011 at 9:29 am

    Awesome! I am thinking of shooting a lot more Tri-X because of how it can be pushed.

    Have fun!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

