Home > for fun, PTC > Tri-x chronicles: Volume I

Tri-x chronicles: Volume I


So here we go.  The first chapter in the Tri-x chronicles.  I’ve vowed to shoot only Tri-x for the entire year of 2011 and share my adventures here.  If you need background read the previous post.   Currently I’m mired in winter under about four feet of snow but I went out anyway and made some shitty pictures.  See what I got after the link.

Because I didn’t have much time and I hate the cold I went to a favorite spot near my home.  U more park is an abandoned military facility and also a great spot for shooting nature.  During the summer it’s great to explore the structures and get into trouble.  In the winter I prefer not to trudge through waist deep snow so I stuck to easier targets.  I was using a Minolta SRT-101 and MC Rokkor 35mm f1.8 and rated the film at 400 iso.  I seem to have an attraction to trees lately and there’s plenty of ’em out there so i commenced shooting.

 

I really liked how the top branch of this tree was broken so I figured what the hell and took a shot.  BTW these are all straight of the scanner except for the vignette.  I also have a thing for vignettes but that’s another article.  I wanted to include some of the structures so I trained my lens on some other stuff.  Keep in mind I was moving about, not just zooming in and out with my 70-200 f2.8.

You can see that these images are grainy as hell.  I developed in Kodak HC-110 for about nine minutes.  The film was overdeveloped about half a stop for a little extra contrast.  Ideally I would have liked to shoot something a little slower but whatever.  Next time I’ll try rating the film at 200 iso and pulling it a stop in developing.  That”s kind of the point of this exercise anyway.  Well I’ll show you a couple more shots and then you can head over to Dp Review and see what those fucks are up too.

So far I’m having a really good time with this old ass film.  I’m curious about what I’ll be able to do with it as this project progresses.  Next time around I’ll be shooting with a Leica M6 and a fifty year old Summarit f1.5 for a real classic look so be sure to check back.  Oh yeah.  If your using a zoom just stop already.  Stop being such a douche bag and do it right.

Biggy

Categories: for fun, PTC Tags: , ,
  1. bob brandoff
    February 2, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    I think your post and project is way cool.

    So cool that I will copy it.. sort of.

    I’ll be “Mr. Arista” because I will shoot nothing but Arista Film with my Olympus OM-2n and Minolta X-700!

    Of course- using nothing but prime lenses.

    • February 2, 2011 at 5:06 pm

      spoken like a true gentleman.

  2. February 2, 2011 at 5:59 pm

    Hi,
    please try the TriX in the ‘magical soup’ Harvey 777……;-)

    • February 2, 2011 at 7:53 pm

      i’d love to. where can i get this magical dev.

  3. bernie
    February 3, 2011 at 6:54 pm

    Hi Biggy, here’s the link:

    http://unblinkingeye.com/Articles/Harvey/harvey.html

    BTW: I got an invitation rom you at my flickr account, (deandare06), but can’t visit the group ‘You are not authorized…..”

  4. March 3, 2011 at 3:58 pm

    Cool project!
    Looking forward to reading more!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

