Home > for fun, PTC, Reviews > Tri-x chronicles: Volume II

Tri-x chronicles: Volume II


It’s been a solid month now of using only Kodak Tri-x film and so far i still think it sucks.  Last time I told you I would be using my M6 and a fifty Summarit but that didn’t happen.  It’s just to cold around these parts to not have your hands  protected by at least to pairs of gloves.  By now i know your hanging on the edge of your seat waiting to find out what I did so here ya go.

Winter is a bitch and really not the most inspiring time for me personally.  That’s why I figured my Holga would be the perfect tool for this outing.  I also wanted to try some Tri-x 120.  I met up with a good friend and colleague Johnaldo Giovani and headed out to the sticks.  I’ve been dying to hit the streets lately buy Johnaldo’s not into that so much.  Plus I cant seem to shoot anything but trees lately so i figured what the hell.  As you probably know using a Holga doesn’t require a whole lot of technical prowess so I loaded it up and went to town.  The first thing to catch my attention was a giant cloud of pollution from a nearby refinery.  Most might pass on this but not me.  Perfect subject for a plastic prime lens.

As you can see I’ve broken every photographic rule known to man here.  My subject is dead center,  there’s dust and hair from the scan and grain the size of golf balls.  I’ve been stand developing lately for reduced grain but you just can’t get around it with this film.  It seems I was really focused on pollution because the next couple of images that drew my attention included con trails from airplanes.

I know I teased you with the promise of trees earlier and I’m a man of my word.  If it’s one thing we got plenty of it’s gnarly hibernating trees.  The last time I went out I found a killer tree but I was shooting 35mm and it just didn’t look right in a rectangular frame.  I was psyched to put it in a square and that’s exactly what I did.

It’s not like I’m gonna win any awards for this one but I liked how it turned out.  Another great part about the Holga is double exposures.  Sometimes you make ’em without even knowing it.  One of my favorite techniques is to capture an image then flip the camera upside down and capture the same thing.  If you get it right the results can be great.  I call this one lost in the desert.

This one’s got you a little fucked up doesn’t it.  Don’t worry cuz that’s the last one I’m gonna share with you for today.  I have another roll hangin to dry and I might update this post later but I think you get the idea.  Even a plastic prime lens is better than a high end zoom.  Stop being a poseur and go make images.  And until further notice Tri-x is garbage.  I’ve got eleven more months of it ahead so things could change.  Stay tuned.

Biggy

Categories: for fun, PTC, Reviews Tags: , ,
  1. Myself
    February 2, 2011 at 9:46 pm

    I think it’s “poseur” not “poser”.
    In any case, I think the contrast of Tri-X is too low for a plastic lens.
    I suspect that if you tried it with a glass prime lens you’d like it a lot better.

    • February 3, 2011 at 1:43 pm

      Your right about the spelling and it’s been corrected. In chapter one I used a nice glass prime and developed with more agitation. The images were more contrasty but also more grainy. I’ve been shooting at box speed and processing to match. I have a feeling the actual sensitivity of Tri-x is faster. Closer to 800 iso which would make a big difference in image quality. In future volumes I will be exploring this more closely. Like I said I’ve got a long way to go but I’m not going to pull any punches on the way.

  2. Denis
    February 18, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    “And until further notice Tri-x is garbage”

    😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

