Home > Reviews > If you bought a Canon 5D Mark II you bought the wrong Mark II

If you bought a Canon 5D Mark II you bought the wrong Mark II


That’s right because for a fraction of the price you could have bought a Fuji GW690II . I know what your thinking, well if I didn’t have a 5D Mark II I couldn’t call myself a pro. That’s right but you could tell all the poseurs that there is more to life than digital full frame, over twice as much more to life. The Fuji GW690II’s image is 2-1/4 x 3-1/4 which is 57.15 x 82.55mm and a 5D Mark II is 24 x 36mm. Put the pieces of your mind back together and crunch some more numbers for me.  A 5D Mark II cost $2,499 at Adorama right now and the three versions of the GW690 run from about $400-900 at KEH, which leaves you about $2,000 for a scanner and film.

read more

  1. February 21, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    I dunno.. I see it as reasonably sharp, especially shot 2 of the door.

    You say “how unbelievably sharp the Fujinon 90mm F/3.5 is” but maybe the scans are not truly representative of the actual prints/negs.

    What year was this camera made?

    • February 21, 2011 at 8:53 pm

      it’s always hard to tell on small images. the fujinon lens is exceptional. among the best. the version two was first produced in 1985.

      • February 21, 2011 at 10:34 pm

        Here’s a shot from Fuji:

      • February 23, 2011 at 3:00 pm

        Agreed. I have the GW690III, and I’ve never felt that the image I’ve prepared for the web have come even close to the 4x6s I print from the same files. I’ve had non-photographers look at small prints from the camera and comment about how they’ve never seen photographs which looked so realistic.

  2. DM
    February 21, 2011 at 9:37 pm

    Hmmm, that’s about what I paid for my used 5DMk1. If I’d known I could get a 6×9 rangefinder for the same money, I might have given it a close look. Thanks for the review.

  3. February 21, 2011 at 10:39 pm
    • February 21, 2011 at 11:17 pm

      Thanks for the resourses and the sample image Bob. Stay sharp and Keep in touch.

  4. February 22, 2011 at 6:30 am

    Thanks Bob B for linking to my photograph with the Fuji mkIII 🙂

    If anyone is interested, you can see more Fuji photographs on my Fujirangefinder page at:
    http://fujirangefinder.com/folder.php?id=118

    also http://www.brucealangreene.com/photographs.html

    I still might replace my 5D Mk1 with a model MkII or maybe MkIII when it comes out 🙂 But I only shoot primes…

    • February 22, 2011 at 7:06 pm

      That’s all we ask Bruce. Keep it up.

  5. February 23, 2011 at 3:03 pm

    I’ve been thinking about using mine as justification to get the VC hotshoe meter as well. In the meantime I just turn it into an auto-exposure camera by strapping a Metz 45 onto it.

    http://www.kpraslowicz.com/hardware/fuji-gw690iii/

    Make my best guess on the exposure and let the Metz fill in the gaps. 😀

  6. March 3, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    Great post! The title made me laugh…brilliant.

  7. March 5, 2011 at 4:43 am

    LOVE those purple doors!

  8. May 30, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    My brother suggested I may like this website. He was entirely right. This submit actually made my day. You can not consider just how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

